Mission Accomplished

So my cooking missions were all accomplished today with time to spare ๐Ÿ™‚

Neil worked on re-networking the internet in our condo with a friend which afforded me plenty of time to recreate these delicious recipes. ย The first two are from a website I have only recently discovered (shame on me) and so far nothing I’ve made has disappointed! ย I identify a lot with Angela from ohsheglows.comย and her website was actually the kick I needed to start one of my own. ย She is a great inspiration and I’m really glad that she has been able to help others for so many years now. ย I may or may not be obsessively reading every post that she has made since the site’s inception (in 2008)…

So on to recipe number one of the afternoon. ย I am posting the recipe I made today since I altered the ingredients slightly from the original, which can be found here:

Super Seed Chocolate Protein Bites

Makes 12 bites

  • 1 cup pitted dates (about 24 dates)
  • 1/4 cup hulled hemp seed
  • 1/4 cup chia seed
  • 1/4 cup sesame seed
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon

1. Add the dates to the Vitamix (or food processor) and mix until a chunky paste forms.

2. Add the remaining ingredients and mix until thoroughly combined. ย The resulting mixture should be sticky and clump together in order for you to be able to roll the dough into balls with your hands. ย If it is not, add water (a tsp at a time) until this consistency is reached.

3. Roll the dough into approximately 12 balls and place in the fridge for about 20 minutes. ย ENJOY!

I altered the recipe a little by leaving out the dark chocolate and adding some almond extract. ย Don’t get me wrong, I definitely have some dark chocolate in the pantry and would like to put it in everything I make, but I am trying not to overdo it since I will probably make something else with it tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is the interim dough:

The final result:

So good! ย Thanks for sharing these and they are pretty simple to make ๐Ÿ™‚

Ok, so recipe number two of the day: HOMEMADE ALMOND BUTTER. ย I had some almond butter with a delicious honeycrisp apple from the farmer’s market while I was at work last week and it was so good that I decided I MUST HAVE SOME. ย I was pumped about it until I saw the $10 price tag and then realized that I probably had the resources to do it at home! ย I read aboutย Angela’s homemade almond butter, but ended up using the vitamix recipe since I don’t have a food processor.

It was incredibly simple to make and saved me a LOT of cash if I am correctly predicting the amount that I will eat on a weekly basis (a lot). ย I mixed it up and added 2 Tbsp of pure maple syrup so give it some added sweetness. ย It made me very happy as indicated by these pictures:

I ended up making spicy tacos for dinner which was adapted from a recipe from thenakedkitchen.com. ย The first time I made them with black beans as the recipeย states, but Neil was itching for some meat since I so lovingly have been depriving him of it during my recent cooking madness. ย We bought some ground beef at the farmer’s market today for just such an occasion and I used that. ย I can say they are delicious with or without meat which explains why there is no photographic evidence (they were inhaled almost immediately).
Well I have finished my delicious Yogi Bedtime tea and am off to bed since I am up early tomorrow to hit the gym (my neck is feeling better already!) before my friend’s baby shower in the afternoon. ย Hope everyone has a great night!
Leave a Reply

