Green Morning!

I didn’t get a chance to post last night because Neil and I reconnected with some friends from MD and then we had to watch Breaking Bad that we missed on Sunday because football was on.  Crazy stuff going down!  One of the girls we met up with last night is going to be doing my makeup for the wedding/reception and she seemed even more excited than I was! I am having my hair and makeup trial later this month so stay tuned for pictures 🙂

I wanted to take just a few minutes to post before I have to go to work and then will hopefully have time tonight when I get home.  Since I have been telling you that I have a green smoothie every morning with my DELICIOUS oatmeal, I wanted to snap a few pictures to leave you with:

This morning’s smoothie included:

– 2 leaves kale from farmer’s market
– spear of pineapple
– 1/2 peach
– 2 Tbsp chia seeds
– ice and water

his and hers 🙂

I may have been too excited for mine and drank some before taking the picture.

I especially like this picture where I forgot to turn off the flash (I hate the flash on this camera):
They look like some kind of mutant ooze.  Turtles anyone?
A word to green smoothie beginners–kale is very bitter and if not mixed with the right amount of things can taste like a bandaid swamp (well to me at least).  If you are just starting out on this quest (and I highly recommend you do), I would use spinach instead of kale because it is much milder and hard to screw up.  Pineapple and banana are the two best fruits I have found to take away any bitterness.
Finally, I took a picture of my oatmeal with stevia and pumpkin pie spice.  I found the same kind I get at Target yesterday but for $1.50 less so naturally I bought all they had.
This breakfast always leaves me feeling full and energized to start my day.  I hope everyone has a great one and I will be back tonight!

Leave a Reply

