Wednesday Giveaway

So to unveil the surprise I mentioned last night: 
LET’S HAVE A GIVEAWAY!
I had been thinking about having a giveaway to share healthy things with others but hadn’t made up my mind yet.  My decision was made for me yesterday when I went to the health store and saw a whole table lined with samples! Naturally I grabbed as many as I felt were reasonable and carried all my purchases out to the car (they don’t have bags).  Here is the loot:
– Natural Calm Magnesium Drink sample
– Osteo Calm Drink sample (added calcium)
– Dr. Bronner’s Lavender Coconut Organic Lotion sample
– Dr. Bronner’s Baby Mild Liquid Soap sample
– Eufora Moisture Cleanse Shampoo sample
– Simple Square bar of your choice!
To read more about Natural Vitality’s Calm drink, click here.  
I haven’t tried the lotion from Dr. Bronner, but I used to use the almond liquid soap and loved the smell of it! To see all the products they make, click here.  
The shampoo was a sample I received when I got my haircut last month and I figured it would be fun to toss in.  They use organic Aloe Vera as a base instead of water because of its antibacterial, antiseptic, and anti-viral properties.  
All you have to do to be entered in the giveaway is leave your name and a comment on this post letting me know what changes/additions/subtractions you have made to incorporate health into your lifestyle.  In a week (next Wed), I will draw a name at random and send you your goodies!  I am always excited and inspired by reading about how other people choose to transform their lives so I look forward to your responses!
I made a giant salad last night since someone (ahem, Neil) has been inhaling the leftover casserole and it won’t last the whole week.  Here is the prep work for the salad:
I really need to use up the cabbage but there is SO MUCH OF IT. When you cut it up, it expands in volume by a million percent.  I have been trying to cut it up and throw it in all sorts of things so I can eat it before it goes bad.  There’s still half a head in the fridge!
It is similar to the rainbow salad that I usually make which is delicious.  I made a different dressing this time though, so we will see how that goes at lunch today.  I pretty much followed this recipe for Lightened Up Lemon Tahini Dressing, but added a little more water and a little less olive oil.  Here is a picture in action:
I don’t know how I feel about this dressing yet.  I tried it by itself and didn’t hate it, but also felt like there was something off that I couldn’t put my finger on.  I want to wait and see how it goes mixed in with the salad today to have a final answer.  One thing I would already change for next time is to only use 1 clove of garlic. I love garlic, but I have a feeling that after eating lunch many people are not going to want to talk to me 🙂
I had the Sage Simple Square today and am reporting back to you like I said I would.  I couldn’t tell a huge difference between this one and the rosemary one which means that I also like this one a lot.  I think I would still choose the rosemary one though because I can taste the rosemary and didn’t get much of an herb taste from this one.  My taste buds may not be as refined as other peoples, though, so someone else may be able to detect the flavor of sage that I couldn’t.  So the Simple Squares are 3/3 so far.  Let’s hope the other 3 can stand up to the test!
I hope everyone has a great day and don’t forget to leave your comments!
2 comments

  1. Lisa Solier here. Mostly, I've been intuitively eating since I became pregnant. I let my body have what it wants (within reason) and I feel really good about it. I also take daily walks, but I did that before I was pregnant too 🙂 It's okay if I don't win the drawing, just wanted to show my support!

  2. Well, I've been cutting out grain, almost completely. Rice was the hardest to let go of. But so far so good, and I've been 2 weeks without grains! Love the blog. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

