Lazy Sunday

This morning I woke up and felt like a thousand knives were stabbing me in the stomach.  I have no idea what happened, but it hurt to breathe and I could barely walk around.  Needless to say I could not attend the plans that Neil and I had for this morning and I had to go back to sleep because it was really all I could do.

I didn’t want to go back to sleep because I was already awake.  I had had something similar happen to me before and the only way it went away was when I went back to sleep.  I finally managed and when I woke up at 12:45 pm (gasp), the pain was gone.  I do not like waking up at 12:45.  Ask me what time I preferred to wake up a few years ago and my answer would have been completely different.  My head was foggy from too much sleep and I felt like I had wasted half the day.

When I finally got up, however, I thought about it and realized that I really hadn’t wasted anything.  My legs are still sore (3 days later) from the gym and I know my body could use the rest.  My stomach obviously did since now it feels better, and my mind is always running around and planning what needs to be done when, so any break I can get from that is probably beneficial.

Now that the sleep fog has lifted, I actually feel pretty productive.  I was planning on finding a new pair of pants to replace the ones I ruined with the laundry explosion, but I can take a rest day today and slow down.

First part of my rest day: celebrate national coffee day with the usual doppio espresso:

Nothing says rest like 2 shots of espresso.
Since today has not been too eventful, let’s see what happened yesterday.  We went to the farmer’s market like we typically do, but there weren’t as many booths as there normally are.  The bunnies were back, but I didn’t get another picture with them because I don’t think I need a million pictures of me with bunnies (or do I?)
– peaches
– red onions
– curly kale
– grass fed ground beef (forgot to picture)
Not a very productive harvest from the farmer’s market, but it will do.  After experimenting with different types of kale in my morning smoothies (Camden, purple), I still think I prefer regular curly kale the most.  It gives them the most substance in my opinion and the other two ended up tasting more like my spinach smoothies.  Don’t get me wrong, I like spinach in my smoothies, but I find that curly kale makes them seem heartier to me.  If you are just starting out on your green smoothie quest, I definitely recommend spinach over kale because it is less innocuous.  Pineapple and banana are the best fruits I have found to mask any kind of green taste.  
On to Wegmans for the remainder of the groceries:

– black beans
– whole wheat pastry flour
– almond flour
– chia seeds
– Think Thin bars
– almonds
– cashews
– delicata squash
– pineapple
– bananas
– Kashi Cinnamon Harvest cereal (Neil)
– whole milk (Neil)
– unsweetened original almond milk (me)
– Yogi Bedtime tea
– beefsteak tomatoes
– Ezekiel bread (mmmmmmmm)
– organic whole wheat penne pasta
I have a problem with cinnamon in that I don’t mind it as an ingredient in recipes or a slight hint of it, but something entirely cinnamon flavored like this Kashi cereal or cinnamon candy is repulsive to me.  I have a love hate relationship with Kashi because I feel like they can be deceptively unhealthy.  
When I buy food in the grocery store, I like to have a look at the ingredients.  I like the number of ingredients to be as few as possible and for me to actually understand what they are.  I have a pretty good number of science classes under my belt (I LOVE organic chemistry), so when I still don’t know what I’m reading it makes me nervous.  
Neil and I did a lot of investigating of Kashi cereals so he could find one that he wanted to eat.  He has been eating this one for probably about a year now.  Cinnamon Harvest has the best ratio of whole grains and fiber to serving size and also has the best ingredient profile:
Four ingredients.  Perfect.  Whole wheat is number one (ingredients are listed from the highest proportion to the lowest).  Now compare the ingredients in another Kashi cereal, GoLean Crisp Toasted Berry Crumble:
Whole Grain Oats, Dried Cane Syrup, Soy Protein Concentrate, Wheat Sticks (Whole Wheat Flour, Kashi Seven Whole Grains And Sesame Flour [Whole: Oats, Hard Red Wheat, Rye, Brown Rice, Triticale, Barley, Buckwheat, Sesame Seeds], Calcium Carbonate), Brown Rice Syrup, Chicory Root Fiber, Soy Grits, Cranberries (Cranberries, Dried Cane Syrup, Vegetable Glycerin, Expeller Pressed Canola Oil), Expeller Pressed Canola Oil, Yellow Corn Flour, Soy Protein Isolate, Natural Flavors, Oat Fiber, Dried Wild Blueberries (Wild Blueberries, Dried Cane Syrup, Vegetable Glycerin, Rice Flour), Baking Soda, Evaporated Salt, Mixed Tocopherols For Freshness, Soy Lecithin.
This cereal is delicious, by the way.  I bought a box when it came out and before I really cared about ingredient labeling.  I had to stop eating it because it made my stomach swell up with all sorts of weird bubbly air (you’re welcome), but it was still delicious.  What I don’t like (besides the air) is so many ingredients and so much sugar!  Cane syrup is the second ingredient (so there’s a lot), but as the list goes on, sugars are mentioned 3 more times.  This is why I am careful to check for ingredients in things that I don’t regularly buy and why making food at home saves me a lot of the trouble of having to do that.
Yesterday afternoon we went to a potluck at a friend’s house and it was one of the first times that I stayed true to my desire to eat healthier.  Normally, if we go somewhere besides our house where there will be food, I am less stringent about what I eat.  My mind categorizes it as a “vacation” so I can “do whatever I want.”  I also usually bring unhealthier food than I would eat at home (see my dessert conundrum). 
Yesterday, however, I brought my trail mix cookies and while I ate more cheese and chicken than I normally would at home, I predominantly ate the healthy options and didn’t even touch the others.  I also have a habit of mindlessly snacking when I am nervous (which is a lot of times in social situations), but this also wasn’t an issue yesterday.  I didn’t overeat so I could look busy and left feeling full of delicious food and good company (the healthy cookies were also confiscated and devoured).  It was a good day.
Today we have a friend coming over to watch football and I think I will be making the cute little delicata squash that I have been eyeing every week and finally bought.  I think dinner will be something simple like pasta and ground beef.  Check back to see what I come up with.  OH YEAH. Also Breaking Bad series finale.  SO anxious!
Question of the day: What things do you do to stick to healthier eating when dining out?

Everyone have a great lazy Sunday!


Leave a Reply

