Stuffed Saturday

Happy Sunday!  Here is a recap of the past couple days:

Friday night Neil and I decided to eat out and spend the night at home.  I got Thai food to satisfy my craving for spice and Neil got his usual Chinese.  I don’t know what it is, but I am just not a fan of Chinese.  I get Chicken Kaprow always which is a mixture of peppers, chicken, and basil.  Also spice. Lots and lots of spice.  I found out I can ask them to make it spicier so I may try that next time I get it 🙂

I eat it out of the container rather than eating it with the nutrient void white rice that it comes with.  I did eat the rice with my mango sticky rice that I got for dessert, however. I forgot to take a picture! I love mango sticky rice and if you haven’t tried it you should probably go and get some right now.
We got up pretty early on Saturday to go to the annual 5K hike put on by a group that I volunteer with.  They work to raise awareness about mental illness and raise money to help avoid homelessness in the same population.  They have a number of projects aimed at achieving these goals and I am proud to help out.  
Last year they decided to expand the hike and also offer a 10K race which I helped plan.  The picture in my about me section is from that race.  I also ran it; it was my first race I did and I’m glad I was able to be a part of it because it made it more meaningful to run.  This year they scaled back again to just the hike and will hopefully be offering the race on an every other year basis.  It’s a LOT of work!
Here is a giant turtle I found on the side of the road:
Neil came along too and we were able to have a nice hike with some awesome people.  I didn’t really get any pictures along the way because Neil and I were busy racing each other on straightaways and trying to be the first ones done.  Everyone loved my healthy cookie bites from ohsheglows.com and I also got to leave with a bag full of apples and bananas.  Score!
We went out for brunch after the hike to a restaurant called Eggspectation.  I always have higher eggspectations (see what I did there?) for this place, but I don’t think we will be making a return trip again.  For a place that specializes in eggs, I feel like I can make better dishes at home for probably a quarter of the price.  I got an omelet with peppers, cheese, salsa and avocado and Neil got Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon, peppers, and asparagus.
I don’t like potatoes in the morning and don’t trust potatoes made in a restaurant, so I didn’t eat those.  Their “side fruit” was three pieces of fruit.  Lame.
In the afternoon we went to Bed Bath and Beyond to look for new towels to replace the ones that I ruined in the laundry explosion.  We were unsuccessful in our mission, but I did have a good time in the kitchen section!
Look how cool this nutrition scale is!  You can weigh your ingredients and it will tell you the nutrition facts:
Neil thought this was the coolest thing.  Who spends $250 on a machine that makes your tea for you? You’re that lazy and full of disposable income that you need it to auto lower and rise?  I don’t know about you, but I would much rather put in a tea bag, pour water, then remove the bag.  This is absurd.  The only thing that is interesting about it is that it takes the guesswork out of brewing different types of tea.  Green tea, for example, is not supposed to be steeped at the same temperature as black tea.  I still don’t need to spend $250 since I can just look that information up… 
Sadly, I left empty handed because I got too overwhelmed and couldn’t decide if I really needed anything.  If I think of something, I definitely know where to find it.  I’m sure I will be back as my cooking escapades continue.
Our next stop was World Market which has a lot of unique food and cool home decor.  We were a little pressed for time, so I wasn’t able to explore everything as in depth as I wanted, but I will go back to see if there is anything we could get to finish decorating our home.  The first thing I saw was this:
Then this glorious wall of sparkly bracelets.  I love sparkles.  Wait until you see the bangles I have for our reception!
I made sure to check out the World Marketplace for any inspiration, but they seemed to be lacking some foods due to being in the process of changing inventory for the season.
I found some forbidden rice, but wasn’t sure if I was allowed to eat it.  Just kidding, but I didn’t want to spend $4 on such a small quantity of rice.  I put it on the list to check for the next time I go to Wegmans.
For dinner last night, Neil got some pizza and I went to Corner Bakery.  I got a turkey sandwich on toasted wheat bread, but had to ask them to leave off the bacon and mayo.  I am not a fan of bacon and mayo is just unnecessary.  Why do they have to pack so many things on sandwiches? Mine had turkey, lettuce, tomato, and avocado:
I wasn’t going to add this in, but when I uploaded my pictures from my phone, it made a gif of Neil eating his pizza. What is this sorcery??  It’s totally cool, but how did it happen? 
Today is Sunday which means football is on all day.  I just got back from the gym and from taking my favorite class for the first time since my injury in June.  HIIT stands for high intensity interval training.  It is an intense, full body workout.  Exercises are done for 20 seconds with a 10 second rest and repeated 6 times.  There is a leg section, 2 cardios, arms, and abs.  This workout kicks my butt and I love it.  I was really glad to get back!
I am going to make and bake some food today while I relax at home.  I will post pictures tomorrow! I hope everyone has a great Sunday!
Question of the day: What’s your favorite weekend workout?

Leave a Reply

