Nasturtium Experiment

Happy Wednesday!  Sorry for the late post, but I have been running all around today and just got home!

So as you may remember from yesterday’s post, we had a patient bring in a bunch of fresh vegetables and herbs from her garden:

I took home some of everything but the one thing that I didn’t know and was slightly frightened of was this magical nasturtium:
I hate letting produce go to waste, so I knew that I had to figure out what I could do with these apparently edible plants.  In doing some research, I found that the entire nasturtium plant is edible, including the flowers. The taste is very interesting and when I tried a leaf, it was both spicy and sweet.  It reminded me of a less intense version of mustard greens.  (sidenote: NEVER make the mistake of using mustard greens to make a green smoothie.  NOT ADVISED).  The leaves are high in vitamin C and iron.  The plant is typically used in salads to give them a bit of a kick.
It was late when I got around to making dinner last night, so I just made eggs again and threw in one of the green peppers that were brought to work as well as a small amount of the nasturtium:
It was actually pretty good and didn’t really alter the taste much.  I could taste that it was a little spicier, but not in a hot spicy way.  Just gave my eggs an edge.  Who doesn’t need edgier eggs?
For dessert I tried out my failed granola bar project with some almond milk to see if it would pass as cereal:
It was really good and I am glad that my error ended up turning into something that I didn’t have to throw away!  I may consider switching almond milk brands because I have recently started hearing about this carrageenan controversy.  I still have issues with my stomach and I haven’t been able to narrow down the cause. I am not saying that this is to blame, but anything that I can remove that could potentially be a cause is probably good.  
I went to a farmer’s market that I discovered today to my great joy and surprise, but I will save that for tomorrow’s post.  I end up posting about the day before because I usually run out of time at night to compile everything that has happened that day.  
Right now I am going to enjoy my cup of tea and spend some time with Neil since we haven’t seen each other since I left this morning.  Where does the time go?? I hope everyone has a great night and I will see you tomorrow!
Question of the day: What food experiments have you tried? Share some of your successes or failures!
One comment

  1. Food experiment success – Salmon cakes! (Think crab cakes, but with salmon). It was a great success, and now we have them regularly. We just had them again tonight. It's a great way to use up leftover grilled salmon.

    Food experiment failure – sauteed watermelon rinds. Don't even know why I tried it. Sounded like a bad idea from the beginning…

Leave a Reply

