Pumpkin Black Bean Soup

What better way to spend a cold evening than with a warm bowl of soup? Too bad the weather here is still fighting the calendar.  Don’t get me wrong, I hate the cold, but maybe a little more fall wouldn’t hurt.

Sunday I made pumpkin black bean soup because it had been raining for four days straight and it was gross and miserable outside.  I got the recipe from Sunday Morning Banana Pancakes and since it turned out so well, I will probably be back to check out some more recipes.

I got a new soup pan for the occasion!  Behold the heavenly light shining down on it’s majesty.
The pictures of the final step of blending the soup did not translate well into appetizing snapshots, so I will just leave you with the finished product:
Pumpkin Black Bean Soup

adapted from original recipe
– 1 can black beans (drained and rinsed)
– 1 can pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
– 2 small hot peppers, roughly chopped (or less or none if you’re not a fan of spice)
– 2 bell peppers, roughly chopped
– 1/2 red onion, chopped
– 2 garlic cloves, minced
– 1 tsp cumin
– salt (to taste)
– 1 1/2 can of water (use bean or pumpkin can)
– 2 Tbsp honey or raw agave (I used agave)
– oregano (optional, I have a whole plant so I use it whenever I can)
  1. In a medium soup pan, saute onions and peppers with a small amount of olive oil over medium heat for approx 2-3 minutes, then add the garlic and continue for about another 7 minutes.
  2. Add spices and stir, then add beans, pumpkin, and water.
  3. Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for another 20 minutes.
  4. Remove from heat and blend in batches (I did 2) until smooth.  If you have an immersion blender, you can blend right in the pot, but I used my Vitamix.  I let the soup cool for around 15-20 minutes before I blended it.
  5. Garnish with oregano and serve!
This soup was delicious and it was really filling.  Neil was afraid to eat it after my last soup attempt but he loved it too!  I have learned to cook my vegetables before throwing them into a blender and expecting it to cook them for me 🙂
Everyone have a great Wednesday and I will see you all tomorrow!
Question of the day: What kind of fall soup is your favorite?

Leave a Reply

