What the Frack?

Behold this marvelous creation of nature that I found in the store yesterday:

This is named Romanesco broccoli, although it is a variant of the cauliflower.
This stopped me dead in my tracks.  It is just so cool!  Since I had never seen it before, I of course assumed no one else had seen it before and therefore would not be buying it for fear of the unknown.  I went in for a close up of it’s majesty and when I stepped back there was a nice woman patiently waiting to select her bunch? head? whatever it’s called.  Awkward.
She told me it was good and that she had just eaten some (weird), so I asked her what you do with it.  She looked at me like I was uncultured and like everyone should know what this was.  Tempering her condescension, she politely told me that you can use it in salads and every other way that you use broccoli or cauliflower.  I was sold.  
There was a period of time when I would inhale raw cauliflower for a snack so even if I couldn’t find any fancy way to prepare this, I knew that I would be able to just eat it.  It’s also much more appealing to eat than bland white cauliflower.  I may never go back.
I am writing this during my lunch break and just finished snacking.  It does taste like cauliflower but I look so much cooler eating it.  In case you can’t tell, I am very excited at this find.  Here is some useful information about this fantastic vegetable:
-vitamin K
-vitamin C
-fiber
-carotenoids
-The buds approximate a fractal, meaning that each bud is comprised from a series of smaller buds.
-The spirals grow in accordance with the Fibonacci sequence and prove that math can be found in nature (OMG SO COOL).
The title of this post was a play on fractals and my Battlestar Galactica nerdiness.  You’re welcome.
I am usually too lazy to prepare broccoli or cauliflower and just end up eating them raw. Should you be more adventurous than me, prepare Romanesco in any way that you would normally prepare your cruciferous vegetables.  
I have to get back to work so I hope that everyone has a great day and I will be back tomorrow!
Question(s) of the day: Has anyone tried Romensco? What is your favorite way to prepare it? What other mysteries of nature am I missing???

One comment

Leave a Reply

