Cabin in the Woods

This weekend has been pretty relaxing.  Our original plan was to spend the weekend in a cabin in the Shenandoah, but because of Neil’s unexpected work travel immediately following the wedding, we decided to make a day trip of it and come home in order for us to spend time together in the house.  It had been about a week and a half since he had had a full day and night at home, so it made sense.

The day was perfect for our trip and we had a very relaxing time.  Obligatory photo log:

We grilled chicken and made quesadillas for lunch.  They were so delicious.  Neil added cinnamon and sugar to the chicken seasoning and they turned out fantastic! He is great at making food on the fly and I never would have thought of that combination.  I will keep him.
I also found this strange product of nature and I have no idea what it is. I like to pride myself on my nature knowledge since I grew up in the woods (in a house, not the actual woods. If I had, I may know what this is), but this was new to me:
There were so many of them. I don’t know what they are, but I like them since they are green and very similar in size and weight to a softball which means I can throw them at things.
Today we bought a tea infuser and since we are not versed in how much loose leaf tea to use, have been drinking it for about 6 hours straight now. We just kept adding more water and it kept making more tea.  I lost count of how many times we filled it up.  Since it was ginger tea, I guess the good news is that I probably have the best digestion ever now.  We had meant to sample the other teas, but I guess that will have to wait until another day.
When the sun set, I lit candles to celebrate Diwali, the festival of lights.  Happy Diwali to everyone celebrating!!
I made more trail mix cookies because I am obsessed with them and needed something gluten free to take to a baby shower at work tomorrow.  I knew buying those gluten free oats would come in handy.  I got the recipe from ohsheglows, so make sure you visit and check out more recipes.  I have never come across a bad recipe.  
To make sure I could also attach the vegan label to them, I got vegan certified dark chocolate.  Most dark chocolate is vegan, but they may not be able to attach the label to it since there is the issue of cross contamination depending on where they are processed.  I used regular dark chocolate for the cookies (and contributed to helping endangered species!):
I bought this one for eating and also decided to get the kale out so that I could photograph it in it’s natural habitat:
It’s almost midnight, so I am off to get ready for bed.  Stay tuned tomorrow for an experiment announcement!
Question of the day: How did you relax this weekend?


2 comments

Leave a Reply

