Holy Sweets!

Happy Friday!

Apparently I am having issues with being able to access photos from my phone on here which is usually how I post pictures, so this post will probably be short again since I have been trying to fiddle with settings and have now lost a good amount of writing time.

At least I was able to access the picture of what I was greeted by when I came into work this morning:

This is our kitchen table. In no particular order, it is covered in: 
– marble pound cake
– Halloween candy
– brownies
– gingersnaps
– chips
– coconut macaroons
– raspberry cake swirls
– a giant tin of dark chocolate covered caramels
– hand sanitizer (to clean the stickiness??)
This is after we had to get rid of a giant sheet cake that someone had brought in in order to make room for some of these things in the fridge.
I am very glad that my mentality about sweets shifted when it did.  Before, I could not control myself around them.  I felt like if I didn’t eat at least some of what was there, I was missing out on something that I could never get back in my entire life.  Don’t ask me why, but I felt like I needed to have some.  Talk about obsession and compulsion…
Since I have switched my eating to more whole foods and have removed a good amount of sugar from my life, the craving and the “need” for sweets like this has significantly diminished and I don’t even want to have any of them.  A lot of times they are actually too sweet for me and I end up feeling sick if I eat any.  It took me a LONG time to get to the place that I am, but for me it is a more fulfilling way of eating.  What also helped was learning to be comfortable with myself the way that I am and to stop comparing myself to others.
Don’t get me wrong, if I want some, I do not deny myself, but I find that I simply don’t want a lot of sweets anymore.  I did definitely break off a piece of that dark chocolate and caramel, but the rest of the spread I left alone.  Avoiding gluten is also a good reason for me to stay away from all of the cakes, brownies, etc.  
Monday will be 2 weeks off gluten.  I suspect that gluten may not be the culprit, but I still have some time to go and once I tweak things a little bit, I will hopefully have a better idea of what causes my “food baby syndrome” (patent pending).  
I hope that everyone has a great weekend! Mine will thankfully be light and I can relax and get some cooking/baking done.  Excellent.  
Question of the day: What do you do to avoid holiday snack attacks?

Leave a Reply

