Writer’s Block + Back/Ab Workout

(source)

Happy Friday!

Sorry I haven’t posted in a couple days, but my lunch breaks have been completely taken up recently.  Today also I only have about half the time, but I want to make sure I get something posted.  I hear a lot about quantity vs. quality in posts and I definitely agree that it is no fun to read posts from people when they seem rushed or half hearted.  There is a certain feeling that comes before pushing the “publish” button on a post that I have put a lot of effort into but I have to admit that sometimes I post just for the sake of posting.

I try and balance out those days with more in depth posts and if I am having a serious case of writer’s block I just don’t post that day.  I think that people reading can sense when something is written quickly and without a lot of thought.  I know I can feel it when that happens, so I try and let my emotions and significant happenings dictate when and what I write.

I went to the gym last night and since my legs are still sore from Monday, I decided to do a back and ab workout.  I haven’t done one since before the wedding, so it’s been a good month.  I just love leg workouts so much! I know it is important to balance things out, so I reluctantly did something different last night.  I do enjoy back workouts sometimes, but given the choice I would rather hobble around for a few days.

– 5 min run on treadmill to warm up
– 3×12 lat pulldown (70lbs)
– 3×12 rear delt machine (40, 40, 25lbs…I got tired!)
– 3×12 low row (55lbs)
 – 3×12 straight arm pulldown (20lbs)
– 2×10 stability ball pike
– 2×10 stability ball jacknife
– 15 side plank hip dips on each side
– 25 double crunches
– 25 touch opposite arm to toe (name??)
I know I did some more random ab exercises, but I can’t remember them all and also don’t know the fancy names for them if there are any.  Basically a lot of planking and doing things in that position (stability ball exercises) in order to work all the core muscles and some of the back that I had just worked out.  I was sore this morning which is a good sign, except that now my entire body is sore.  I guess I can’t complain 🙂
This week has really flown by and I can’t believe next week is Thanksgiving!  I am hoping that I have some more down time this weekend so that I can collect my thoughts and write something a little more meaningful.  I hope everyone has a great weekend and I will talk to you again soon!
Question(s) of the day:  What are some of your solutions for writer’s block? Quality vs quantity for posts?
Leave a Reply

