Maple Spiced Pecans

Today is COLD.  I hate cold. When it is cold outside, however, I go into hibernation/baking mode.  I love the contrast between the temperature outside and the warm smells inside.  My weapon of choice against the cold today was maple spiced pecans.  I have been obsessing about pecans lately ever since having that delicious salad at Panera.  I forgot how much I like them, but I do not like how the flavored varieties in the store are either coated in sugar or I have no idea what is in them.

These took me about 20 minutes from start to finish and the only sugar in them is from the maple syrup.  Also, they are BANGIN.  So good and so easy that you MUST make them as soon as you can.

Maple Spiced Pecans

-4 cups pecans
-2/3 cup pure maple syrup
-1/2 tsp cinnamon
-1/4 tsp nutmeg
-pinch ground ginger
-pinch cayenne pepper
-pinch salt
-1 Tbsp water

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper and spread pecans over sheet. Bake for about 10 min.
  2. Cook maple syrup and spices over med low heat until warm and slightly bubbly (few min).
  3. Add warm pecans to saucepan along with 1 Tbsp water and fold into mixture.  Continue stirring/folding until the liquid begins to caramelize and is completely absorbed by the pecans.
  4. Using the same baking sheet covered in parchment paper, spread the caramelized pecans out and let cool. They will be ready to devour in approx 15 min.

Everyone have a great end to their weekend (these will help)!

Question of the day: What is your favorite way to combat the cold?

6 comments

  1. Oh, and thanks to your recommendation, I bought a Kabocha squash at the market today for the first time. Can't wait to make it!! But I realize I got a red one, and your recipe/pictures are for the green skin one. I hope it's still good!

Leave a Reply

