Foodie Penpals: November Edition

Happy Friday! I hope everyone had a GREAT Thanksgiving yesterday and that you were able to spend it with those you love.  We had a relaxing time with family and I was able to talk to my family as well.  My brother came home and surprised my mom (he wasn’t going to be able to make it originally) so she was very thankful he wasn’t spending the holiday alone.

I have been mentioning that I signed up for foodie penpals from The Lean Green Bean and I received the package from my match on Wednesday.  In emailing back and forth, I found out that we are actually VERY similar, so it was easy for us to shop for each other.  We just pretended that we were shopping for ourselves!  She was very helpful and even sent me a bunch of questions so that she could figure out my preferences.  Check out her blog: funfabdelish! I just realized her title is in lowercase letters…I wonder if she has the same affinity for them as I do??

Anyway, without further ado:

– garbanzo bean flour
– Vega Sport protein bar
Theo chili dark chocolate
– Superfood trail mix
I loved all of these things! We are both interested in different types of flours, but neither had tried the ones that we personally use a lot.  I am using almond flour constantly and she is using chickpea flour so she sent me a bag.  Note to self: do not use in cookies.  The consistency was fine but the taste was not.  I had to make cookies for Thanksgiving and last minute we found out there was someone coming with a nut allergy.  I assumed that the timely arrival of this flour was some kind of sign that would save the day, but I was wrong.  It would definitely work well in other foods like veggie burgers or anything that needs some substance to hold it together.  I’m pumped!  
I ate the bar after my workout yesterday and it was delicious! I have been sad because I think my Think Thin bars are messing with my stomach due to the casein and whey so I haven’t had one in awhile.  I was really glad to get this because I have looked into this company before and wanted to try their products!  This bar is totally plant based (pea protein) and I ate it with no stomach issues.  Bonus for the chocolate coating!
I have had another brand of chili chocolate before, but I liked this one better.  It was spicier than the other brand and we all know how much I love spice.  Definitely a hit!
I just finished the trail mix as a snack before my lunch today and it was also good.  There is no sugar added, so it was just a mixture of cacao nibs, mulberries, goji berries, and pistachios.  It was a nice change from my handful of almonds I usually eat as a snack.
This program ROCKS and if you click on the link above you will be able to see how to sign up for yourself.  They are taking a break for the month of December, but when January rolls around I will be penpaling like whoa.  Oh yeah.  Sign up! It’s a great way to connect with others and experience new foods.
I hope everyone has a nice end to the week and an even more enjoyable weekend.  Stay tuned for an update on the gluten free adventure on Monday.  
Question of the day: What new foods have you been wanting to try?

Leave a Reply

