Gluten-Free Week 4 Update

I hope everyone is enjoying this lovely Monday.  I wanted to give everyone an update on my gluten-free experiment.  It has been 4 weeks today and I honestly can’t say that I have noticed much difference at all.  I wanted to wait for 4 weeks and then try having gluten again to see if there was any reaction.  Last night Neil and I ordered pizza while watching football and I ate that to reintroduce it to my diet.  Today I feel the same.  I know that it can sometimes be  a delayed reaction, so I will be attentive to how I am feeling today and tomorrow.

The main thing that I noticed as a difference was that my physical appearance stayed more consistent than when I am eating gluten.  This may not be due to gluten at all, however, and is quite possibly the result of cutting bread and flour out of my diet.  I did not eat a large amount in the first place, but completely removing it seemed to decrease the fluctuations that I noticed from day to day in how my clothes fit.

After cutting out gluten, I noticed that I developed daily headaches for about the past 2 weeks.  I have no idea what could be causing these since I have kept everything else in my diet the same.  Again, I am not attributing them to gluten, but it is just something I noticed.  I have one today as well.  Hmmm.

As much as I know you love reading about my food sensitivity experiments, you must be even more excited to read about my weekend.  I will make sure to keep you updated on the whole gluten thing.  Yesterday was December 1st and I got this gem for Neil and I:

I had been on the hunt for an advent calendar this year because I hadn’t had one since I was a kid and Neil didn’t even know about them.  I figured it would also be a perfect gift for Neil because he is very impatient when it comes to Christmas and doesn’t like being confined to one day for presents.  We both like tea, so I found this and thought BINGO.  The only problem is that they sold out in like 2 seconds online and since David’s Tea is primarily a Canadian store, the only physical locations in the U.S. are in NYC.  
Going along with my obsessive nature, I knew I MUST HAVE IT.  I am so grateful to my cousin-in-law (is that a thing?) because she went to the actual store and mailed it to us.  The first tea was delicious and I will have the second one tonight when I get home.  The tins the tea come in are so adorable and I can save them for future spice use.  I will be updating you on this tea journey as it continues.
Speaking of spice, Neil surprised me with an early Christmas present this weekend: an online herb and spice class from a culinary institute!  As you can see, his excitement does not only apply to him and he is often too impatient to wait and give me presents on Christmas as well.  I was so excited because I had just been talking about how I was overwhelmed with different seasonings and I wished there was a place that would just tell me what goes with what and what to use them in/on/around/etc.  I started it last night and I am PUMPED. I am going to season EVERYTHING.  I’ll probably be a master chef when I’m done.
To end today, I will leave you with this:
I saw these in Target over the weekend and must say that the one on the right seems a little shifty.  I do not trust him.  
Question of the day: Does anyone else have an advent calendar? If so, what kind?
Leave a Reply

