Kale Chips

Happy Monday! I hope you had a great weekend!

While I walked into work today and was bombarded with a table full of donuts and cookies, I thought I would counteract that with the recipe for kale chips that I made yesterday.  I wanted to bake something on Sunday using the coconut flour that I bought, but foolishly used a recipe from someone I didn’t know.  The brownies were not good and disappeared immediately into the trash.  “What brownies?”

Frustrated, I drove to the store to stock up on kale.  Not quite the same as brownies, but I knew it was hard to mess up kale chips and I had been talking about making them for awhile now.  They were delicious!!  I made a pound of kale and Neil and I finished it all off.  On top of the green smoothies with breakfast, I definitely think we hit our green quota for the day.

Discard the center rib
Voila!!

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees
  2. Rinse and dry the kale
  3. Tear the kale into bite sized pieces, making sure not to include the rib down the middle (I just tore the leaves from around the rib and made sure they weren’t too big)
  4. Put in a large bowl and drizzle about 1 Tbsp olive oil over the kale.  Massage with hands until all the leaves are coated.
  5. Cover with seasonings of choice. I was simple and used sea salt.  
  6. Spread in a single layer on baking sheet. You can use parchment paper for easy clean up or not.
  7. Bake for 10 min, then rotate the pan and cook for another 10-15 min.  Don’t let the kale get too brown or it will taste like burnt popcorn. Yuck.
These make a great quick snack.  If you plan to keep some for the next day, store in an airtight container because they will no longer be crispy if exposed to moisture.  I read that putting some rice in the bottom of the container will help it stay dry (similar to the cell phone trick).  The refrigerator tends to hold more moisture than the outside air for some reason, so I wouldn’t put them in there either.  Honestly you will probably eat them all.
Everyone enjoy your Monday and your kale chips!!
Leave a Reply

