Five Things Friday

Happy Friday! I don’t know about anyone else, but my days of the week are all confused since I was off on Wednesday.  Since I had mentioned that I have a bunch of pictures that need posting, I figured that the best way to do that would be jumping on the Five Things Friday bandwagon.  Here are 5 things that I am loving right now:

1. Superfood Cereals/Granolas/Whatever

I have been eating a lot of these cereals lately, mainly as a snack at work.  I don’t really know why companies market some things as a cereal and others as a granola since they seem the same and can either be eaten with milk or not, but regardless, they are delicious.  I have found these gluten free varieties as well and am not sure why it took them this long to enter my life.  Check out the whole post I did about the Hemp & Greens cereal a little while ago.
2. Baking

This may seem like a given since I am always talking about food and posting pictures of things that I have made, but I am still loving it and so I will include it.  What can I make this weekend???
3. Eggnog

I love eggnog. Very much.  I hadn’t had it in a couple years because my stomach doesn’t like milk.  I wasn’t quite ready to brave the non-dairy types of eggnog yet for fear that it would ruin my love of the real thing.  As a Christmas treat to myself, I went with the Lactaid eggnog so that I could still taste the deliciousness that is this heavenly nectar of the gods.
4. Gluten Free Flours

Lately I have been obsessed with different kinds of flours.  The issue with gluten free flour is that you can’t just take a cup of this or that and treat it the same way as wheat flour.  It often takes a few different kinds to get the right balance.  Then you have to add the starch.  What?? Crazy!!
I think being able to successfully combine different gluten-free flours to make a delicious dessert is an awesome feat.  I am mesmerized by the different properties of each type of flour.  I love science so I think that is why this is so intriguing to me.  My goal is to become knowledgeable about all these different types of flour and starch and be able to create my own recipes with them.  I am also planning on making some flours at home since they can be overpriced in the store.  That or raid the Asian store.  I will keep you updated.  
Just don’t get me started about flour unless you want me to ramble like a mad woman for 20 minutes.
5. Foam Rolling

source

Yup, that’s what I look like on my foam roller.  More like awkwardly wincing in pain as I work out the tightness and knots.  I have known about foam rolling for a long time but figured I was above it as I typically do until I get injured.  Well, enter Monday’s IT issue and here I am rolling away at work.  My plan is to invest in one for home this weekend if I can brave the stores.  For those of you who are unfamiliar with foam rolling, here is some info.  Yes, I just posted a Wikipedia article but I am feeling lazy today.

Well this concludes my Five Things Friday.  I hope everyone has a great weekend!!
Question of the day: What are some of your favorite things?
2 comments

Leave a Reply

