Litany of Lunches

Happy Friday!

I wasn’t sure to write about today, but after looking through my pictures and realizing all the random ones I have taken of my lunches and never posted, I found my answer.  This is not a typical lunch because sadly I am very boring and eat the same things every day.  It appears that I like routine (and am lazy), so when I find something that I like, I eat it until I get sick of it.  Sometimes this takes months.

My love affair with Subway has spanned many years and consists of me eating there every day for months and months, stopping for months, then starting again with a different kind of sub.  I am not sure that I will return to it this time, however, since I am working on avoiding gluten.

Currently, I make 2 cups of quinoa on Sunday night and divide it into 5 tupperwares so that I have lunch mon-fri.  All I put in it is a ton of Sriracha (gluten-free!).  It is very boring but also very delicious to me.  I get a good amount of greens in my daily kale smoothie, but realized that I could branch out and *gasp* add something else to my lunch!

Last night I picked these up at the store and added some to my lunch today:

I just finished this wonderfully healthy concoction and I will say that it was not half bad. Of course, knowing me I will probably just continually buy these peas for months until I go CRAZY again and mix something else in.  Actually, I am interested in branching out from quinoa and incorporating other gluten free grains into my lunch routine.  Stay tuned for a breakdown of those to come!
Here are some other lovely lunch pictures that I have taken over the past few weeks.  They are mostly from the weekends when I break out of my shell and deviate from the norm.  I’m so wild!
grilled chicken, brown rice, chickpeas, rice, sauteed veggies, tomatoes, chilis, HOT SAUCE
spinach, chicken, edamame, onions, chickpeas, sunflower seeds, carrots, mushrooms
mixed greens, some delicious creation at Wegmans involving couscous
mixed greens, brussel sprouts, delicata squash, cranberries, butternut squash, onions
I will try and post this weekend since I will be gone for so long next week.  It is pretty low key with us just figuring out what needs to be packed and football.  I am planning on making some gluten free biscotti tomorrow so we will see how that turns out.  Of course the gym is also involved somewhere in there, but it may be Sunday since I am still sore from last night and have been unable to run as long as I’d like with my IT issue.  
I hope everyone has a great weekend!!
Question of the day: Do you like variety in your food or do you find something that works and stick with it?
Leave a Reply

