Snow Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone! I know most people either love, hate, or are indifferent to this holiday, and I would have to say that I am the latter.  I’m not sure I need a specially designated day to show love to my husband and I feel like I can do little things at random times all year to do that.  I like the mystery of that and plus, what if we happen to be in a fight on Valentine’s Day? I can’t be like OH NO LET’S PRETEND WE ARE THRILLED WITH EACH OTHER RIGHT NOW while glaring across a candlelit table.  Thankfully we aren’t fighting today, but it could happen and I don’t want my affections boxed into a designated time.  Ok, enough of that.

Yesterday I was off work and told myself that I would have all sorts of time to post, but after shoveling two driveways (our friend has a torn ACL), cooking like a mad woman, and just relaxing, I figured I would save it until today.  I didn’t take any pictures of the craziness, but you all know what snow looks like.  If not, here is an approximation:

The roads were a little less clear.  Neil woke me up at 7am mumbling something about wanting to watch the Thanksgiving Day parade and then in typical fashion wanted to go back to sleep 2 hours later.  Since I don’t like doing that, I was up.  I didn’t mind terribly because it gave me a lot of time to find foods to make.  I’m going to save most of them for my first WIAW next week, but I will share some pictures of the delicious no-bake peanut butter cups that I made from Oh She Glows.

 

20140214-140203.jpg

20140214-140211.jpg

Behold their glory!

20140214-140220.jpg

And because I am so artsy:

20140214-140105.jpg

The original recipe is for almond butter cups, but I didn’t have any on hand, so I opted for peanut butter. Duh. Please check these out and make them; they are fantastic (and vegan!).  I can’t wait for that cookbook on March 4th!!!

I hope that everyone has a great Valentine’s Day if you’re down with that.  If not, have a great Friday and I will see you after the weekend!

Question of the day: How do you feel about Valentine’s Day? Did you do anything with your snow time off (if you had any)?

3 comments

  1. Oh, these look delicious!!! I need to try those! We made chocolate chip cookies and chocolate fondue tonight to celebrate V-day. A day late, so I guess that’s how I feel about Valentine’s day… 🙂

Leave a Reply

