WIAW: Road Trip Edition

It’s Wednesday again! To check out what this wonderful linkup is all about, check out Jenn’s blog here.

I wanted to do a compilation of my eats on the road from this weekend when I went to Alabama for my grandma’s funeral.  I love road trips, but I don’t always love the food choices along the way.  The following are meals from probably different days along the trip:

Breakfast

20140224-133046.jpg

20140224-133016.jpg

Snacks

20140226-151916.jpg

20140226-151828.jpg

20140226-151813.jpg

20140226-151822.jpg


Lunch

No lunches were healthy on this trip. Friday I had chicken soft tacos from Taco Bell, Saturday I had the monstrosity of a calzone (pictured here), and Sunday we tried to stop at a recommended vegetarian restaurant in Richmond only to find out they were closed on Sundays.  So lame.

Dinner

Sunday night we were home and made a pan cooked salmon, brown rice, and brussel sprouts:

20140226-151926.jpg

That was all the excitement of the road trip eating.  I tracked down some new brand of kombucha, but wasn’t in the mood for that flavor at that moment. I foolishly thought I could find it again, but alas.  One day…

20140226-152954.jpg

On an exciting note, I was accepted as a Sweat Pink ambassador last night (you can see the link on the sidebar).  I am really excited to be able to reach a wider audience and help get more involved in spreading health to others!! Check them out!

Question of the day: How do you eat healthy on road trips?

6 comments

  1. Happy WIAW! We are on a road trip right now, and eating healthy has been a challenge. I have favored eggs for breakfast (rather than sweets like pastries or pancakes), salads with protein on top for most lunches, and various dinners. I have avoided anything fried, and I try to make all side items healthy, like a side salad, fruit cup or vegetable rather than fries.

  2. When Im road tripping, I usualy always bring some sort of healthy snacks w/ me. If I know i”ll have access to some type of grocery store (which almost always happens), I’ll bring nut butter to dip my fresh produce in, flaxseed to combine w/ eggs for healthy fats, bags filled w/ protein powder so I can mix w/ some sort of liquid (milk/water/brewed coffee) for a quick shake.

Leave a Reply

