Foodie Pen Pals: February

I know this is a few days late, but I received my package on Friday when I got home from work. For those who are unfamiliar with Foodie Pen Pals, it a program started by Lindsay at the Lean Green Bean.  There is a sign up every month that pairs you with a partner and you exchange gift boxes of food.  Sounds much better than letters to me 🙂  If you’re interested in signing up or want more information, click the button on the sidebar.

My match for February was Shelby and I got these great goodies from her:

20140303-102441.jpg

1. Bob’s Red Mill GF Cornbread

I was JUST talking about cornbread the other day and how much I loved it when my mom used to make it from that little blue box.  This is great because it’s something that I will eat but I don’t know that I would think to buy it on my own.  Nice job!

20140303-102455.jpg

2. Nature’s Path Peanut Choco Crispy Rice Bar

Look at that sweet little lemur. I will eat you. Bonus: Also GF!

20140303-102513.jpg

3. Pacific Brand Organic Cashew Carrot Ginger Bisque

I like Pacific brand because they have very little weird/added ingredients. Take this soup, for example: water, carrots, cane sugar, coconut, corn starch, cashews, sea salt, roasted garlic, ginger puree, spices, sunflower oil.  Not bad.  I think this snow day may be a good one for a warm bowl of soup…

20140303-102504.jpg

4. Ginger Honey Crystals

This drink is really good.  They are individual packets of crystals that can be made into a hot or cold drink.  I used to have a real problem with ginger, but it is growing on me more as I use fresh ginger in my cooking and drink more tea/kombucha with ginger in it.

20140303-102521.jpg

5. Not Pictured

The licorice is pictured in the group shot, but unfortunately I really don’t like licorice so I will probably keep it around for when we have company. Also not pictured is the mini bottle of wine. It was definitely a sweet gesture and believe me, if I could throw back one of those and not immediately go to the store to pick up like 5 more bottles to drink by myself, I would be all over it.  Not sure she picked up on the whole being in recovery thing…

All in all another great package this month! Thanks to Lindsay for coordinating all of this!!

Question of the day: Would you prefer a thoughtful letter or thoughtful food from a pen pal? Who wants my licorice?

One comment

Leave a Reply

