WIAW: Race Day Edition

Happy Wednesday! Welcome to my log of food from Saturday’s race day.  I ran a 5K in the morning and then spent part of the afternoon seeing a movie/eating delicious food.  If you are unfamiliar with What I Ate Wednesday, check out Jenn’s blog for all the info.  Thanks for the linkup!!

Breakfast

I was up pretty early to get to the race and had my normal, boring, everyday breakfast: eggs and a green smoothie:

20140319-143956.jpg

20140219-150020.jpg

Lunch

Post race I knew it would be a little while before more food, so I ate a Vega Sport bar (one):

20140319-144022.jpg

Brunch

We met a friend for brunch at Le Pain Quotidien and I was very pleased with their healthy options. I had actually never been in one because I assumed it was a store chock full of french bread but silly me.  Never assume.  I had the tofu scramble:

20140319-144036.jpg

Lunch

We ate lunch at Cava, which if you are unfamiliar is basically a Chipotle for Mediterranean food.  I got some magical power greens mixture as my base and then added falafel, hummus, onions, tomatoes, and ALL THE HOT SAUCE.

20140319-144044.jpg

Snack

We stopped for some espresso (me) and a cappuccino (Neil). We both would have normally gotten espressos, but I wanted to see the fancy pouring pattern:

20140319-144057.jpg

Dinner

I made some of the black bean pasta from our wild trip to Costco last week and I was very impressed! It tastes nothing like black beans and is PACKED with protein (25 grams!), meaning that we didn’t have to incorporate a meat into this dish.  I just sauteed onion, garlic, and mushrooms and added that to the pasta. I needed some color, so I diced up some tomatoes and threw those on too.  So good!

20140319-144131.jpg

I can’t remember if I had a dessert or not that night, but knowing me I probably inhaled a bunch of dates.  I have no idea where this craving for dates has come from but I’ve been eating them for like 2 weeks now.  Weird.  Here are some dates:

f1c0d-img_1220

No, I didn’t measure them. This was a picture from a recipe I posted. I just grab handfuls and shove them in my mouth.

Tonight I have to make lunch for my work tomorrow because we choose a name every week and that person has to bring in food one of the days.  I am going to overload them with delicious greens, veggies, and quinoa.  Check back for the finished product!

Question of the day: Did you have any atypical eats this week? Has anyone else had black bean pasta? 

6 comments

  1. You know, I’ve heard of black bean pasta before, but never tried it! I’m not a huge pasta fan, but maybe I’ll have to do some experimenting 🙂 I’m loving the look of that smoothie, what was in it? (During my college’s XC season, I always had green smoothies before races!)

Leave a Reply

