Five Things Friday: Weekend Eats

Happy Friday!

I usually know what I am going to write about on a given day, but I am struggling to come up with five ANYthings today.  Since my brain defaults to food, I think I will share the five things I plan on making this weekend.  Neil won’t be back until late tomorrow night, so I have a whole day to putter around.

1. Almond Milk

I make almond milk a lot, but I never strain it because a) I’m lazy b) I don’t have a milk nut bag (yeah I said it) c) I don’t mind the extra fiber in my milk.  This time, however, I wanted to separate the milk from the pulp so I can make homemade almond meal and won’t have to buy the overpriced bags of it at the store.  I found a way to make a nut milk bag that doesn’t require me spending a million dollars for a specially marketed one, so check back for that after this weekend.

65faf-img_0799

2. Cauliflower Fried Rice

I have been toying with the idea of either making a cauliflower crust pizza or this and have decided on this because we recently had pizza and this way I can jam lots of veggies in as well.  I guess I could do that with a pizza, I just think I don’t have the patience if we’re being honest.  It’s like one extra step but that’s too much. Ha.  Check out the recipe here.

3. Vegan & Gluten Free Vanilla Blueberry Buckwheat Pancakes

Of course this list would not be complete without a recipe from Oh She Glows.  I love pancakes but in trying to stay away from gluten I am forced to eat the grainy rice flour ones. They’re not terrible, but certainly not like regular gluten-ed up ones.  These use buckwheat and look amazing in the pictures, so they will probably taste amazing as well.  Like I’ve said 500 times, there isn’t anything I’ve made from this lady that’s been bad.  Make them!

4. Brown Rice Flour

I have every other flour known to man except this staple of gluten free baking.  I always read recipes and have to substitute it but then I realize that I have the master of all blenders and I can make whatever I want. I make oat flour and quinoa flour, so why can’t I make brown rice flour? I can is the answer.  I need some of this to make the buckwheat pancakes, so make it I will!

5. Mystery Meal

I am not naming it this to be coy, I am just not home right now and can’t pick a 5th thing from my many cookbooks.  So technically I have only listed 4 things, but check back next week to see what the 5th was! I guess you could count the almond meal that results from the almond milk as another thing, but I feel like that’s cheating.  This will hold me accountable and make me make something new.

I get off work tonight around 7 and the sun sets at 730, but it has finally stopped raining and I am itching to get outside and run.  Even if it is only for a few miles, I plan to run home, change, and run off into the wilderness.  I hope everyone has a great weekend!

Question of the day: What should I make for my mystery meal? Do you have any cooking plans this weekend?

2 comments

  1. How did the cauliflower fried rice turn out?? I’ve been wanting to try that- saw the recipe on NomNomPaleo too. Looks delish! Did you use 2 pans, as suggested? Or just wing it with one?
    Hmmm, mystery dish. I like the garbage stir fry from Nom Nom Paleo. Have you tried that? It’s always a mystery….

Leave a Reply

