Foodie Pen Pals: March

Happy Monday! I have so many things to post today from the weekend and life in general,  but it is the last day of the month which means that it is Foodie Pen Pal reveal day! I love this program because it matches you up with someone and then instead of swapping letters you swap FOOD. What’s not to love? If you are interested, sign up at Lindsay’s blog The Lean Green Bean!

I have had good and mediocre experiences with this program, but this month ROCKED. I was matched with Annie from Annie A to Z. We emailed back and forth and found out that we had extremely similar tastes in food.  That made things easy because I was able to basically shop for myself.  I loved everything she sent me and have already inhaled most of it!

20140331-154341.jpg

1. Tajin

Neil knew what this spice was but I had never heard of it. It is a citrusy (it’s a word) blend of Mexican spices and it is great because I don’t have anything that fits that genre of seasoning.  I love new flavors and ways to season things!

20140331-154417.jpg

2. Mount Dora Pineapple Balsamic Vinegar

We both love pineapple and I loved this twist on a way to incorporate it into a gift.  I haven’t used it yet because I think this bottle is so precious, but when I do I’m sure it will be a flavor explosion in my mouth (twss).

20140331-154429.jpg

20140331-154440.jpg3. CHOCOLATE

Oh man these chocolates were gone in days.  I don’t eat sweets nearly as much as I used to, but an exception can always be made for delicious dark chocolates.  The chipotle almonds were a great blend of spicy and sweet and I washed those down with some of the sea salt caramels.  I love caramel covered chocolate and these definitely hit the spot.  The most unique taste had to go to the coconut curry cashews which were also fantastic. I’ve never had that flavor combination and even though I’m not a huge fan of coconut, these were great!

20140331-154356.jpg4. Mexican candies

These were really cool because they’re not something that you can just pick up in any national chain store.  Apparently I didn’t take a picture of them together, but they are the two candies in the left in the main picture.  I am assuming that all of these ingredients are in them? That’s amazing! Fig, pear, acitron, pumpkin, chilacayote, pineapple, and sweet potato? Yes please.

20140331-154408.jpgLike I said, this month’s haul was awesome and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for next month.  Check out Annie’s blog–it’s totally awesome!

Tomorrow will probably be full of a weekend recap and reporting back about all the stuff I made.  I am also being featured on another blog and will report back with that link as well (as if you needed to read more about me from another source).  I hope that everyone enjoys today and that wherever you are the weather is cooperating!

Question of the day:  What types of things would you want from a food pen pal?

3 comments

  1. I don’t have Tajin – now I must find it! 😀 That is one awesome package full of goodies – I’d definitely whip open that olive oil – yum! It goes great with everything. Have a great one Erin! -Iva

Leave a Reply

