WIAW: Home Alone Edition

Here’s some more food! This weekend Neil was gone until late Saturday night, so I spent a lot of free time making food (of course).  This is actually a compilation of the weekend because most of the stuff I made on Saturday was ingredient related (almond milk, meal, flours, etc).  If you are not familiar with What I Ate Wednesdays, head over to Jenn’s blog to read more about it!

Breakfast

I used Angela’s recipe from ohsheglows.com for Vanilla Blueberry Buckwheat Pancakes.  I altered it a bit by not including the banana which I think may have attributed to some of them staying pretty flat. They definitely did not turn out as beautiful as her pictures, so I am sharing the best one that I have. It was definitely weird to not eat eggs in the morning, but also a welcome change.  I may have eaten 7. (I did). Not pictured is the daily green smoothie.

20140402-144641.jpg

20140402-144708.jpg

20140402-144650.jpg

Snack/Lunch

This is from Sunday when I had to head to the Virginia Blogger meetup, so I grabbed a Vega bar to have for lunch. I also ate a banana but didn’t take a picture.  I’m slacking this week.

20140402-144756.jpg

Just kidding! Here’s a banana:

20140326-143514.jpg

Dinner

I made this dinner for myself on Saturday: Chana Masala from the Oh She Glows cookbook.  Delish!

20140402-144626.jpg

I made this dinner for Neil and I on Sunday.  Cauliflower fried rice from The Sprouting Seed.  I thought it was delicious and I have eaten the leftovers for 3 days now at work.  I will definitely make this again.

20140402-144728.jpg

I also had a kombucha that day, but again don’t have a picture. I guess I can recycle one. Not this brand, but same flavor:

20140305-142635.jpg

It was a pretty light day of eating for me because I didn’t have a stock of brussel sprouts or squash waiting for me in the fridge.  I remedied that last night by popping open one of those 2 lb bags of sprouts. MMM.

I am planning on posting my almond trifecta this week, but it may have to wait until Friday.  As I mentioned in an earlier post, I have the privilege of speaking at a forum on drug abuse tomorrow night so I don’t think I will be able to get a post in tomorrow.  I am sacrificing my lunch break to leave work early and head down there.  I will also fill you in on that.

I needed to write my speech last night, but instead decided that I would make almond butter first. Procrastinate much? TWO HOURS later I had coconut almond butter which is great except that I do not like the taste of coconut.  What should have taken 5 minutes turned into a mangled spatula and a crazy explosion in my kitchen.  Since I can’t let well enough alone, I am making more tonight now that I know what my problem was.  You can look forward to the madness in my almond post.

Question of the day: What did you eat today? What kind of snacks do you like?

One comment

  1. I love almond butter – I’m still getting used to almond milk and once our blender arrives in the freakin’ mail I will be making some banana almond milk shakes to adapt my taste buds. I just started eliminating sugar from my diet and it – is – hell. Lol. That’s awesome you’ll be speaking on drug abuse! Best of luck Erin and have a great one -Iva

Leave a Reply

