Fast Foods

I have had a pretty busy day at work today and so in glancing at my pictures on my phone, I decided to just recap the past day or two in pictures (yes there’s lots of food).  This morning I woke up early to do another Insanity workout.  I have always been a morning workout person, but my schedule (and my dislike of waking up before 7 am) hasn’t allowed it for some months.  With the weather warming up, I will be able to get in more morning runs around the neighborhood which I am definitely looking forward to!

Neil has been gone since Tuesday, so I was excited to have the house to myself and relax. Or course I did not really do that and instead went on a mad cooking/assembling spree Tuesday night.  I was able to squeeze in a couple episodes of Scandal, but not nearly as many as I would have liked.

First I came home and made a gluttonous amount of brussel sprouts.  Then I decided to make more nut butter and came up with a chocolate coffee peanut butter concoction.  It is good but I’m not sure if it is perfected.  I will force Neil to eat some tonight to get an unbiased opinion.

20140410-154010.jpg

20140410-154017.jpg

20140410-154026.jpg

 

Look at those little peanuts in the background.  I’m so artistic.

 

20140410-154034.jpg

After watching a little TV and simultaneously checking my blog feeds, I saw a recipe for chocolate buckwheat pancakes.  I realized I was still hungry and decided to make some.  I either made them with my leftover buckwheat flour or brown rice flour.  I didn’t label the container because of course I know what everything is.  I think it was buckwheat flour? I fiddled with the ingredients and while the consistency wasn’t great, they still tasted good.  They were covered in maple syrup of course which this picture does not reflect.

20140410-154043.jpg

Then I watched some more TV, but the kitchen kept drawing me back in.  Before I was going to bed I realized that I had a zucchini to use up, so I dug my spiralizer out of the cabinet and spiraled away.  A spiralizer is the most amazing thing ever and if you don’t have one, BUY ONE RIGHT NOW.  I chose the wrong blade and ended up with some weird circular things, but they still looked cool and this whole salad for the next day came together in less than 10 min.

20140410-154108.jpg

Last night I made more almond butter and this time it took me approx 5 min instead of 2 hours.  Guess I’m a professional now.  My Blender Girl Cookbook came a day early in the mail too so rather than watch more Scandal I decided to read it until I went to bed.  It is a fantastic resource and I can’t wait to finish reading it.  I will probably do a review next week.

Tomorrow Neil and I are headed to Ocean City until Sunday, so this will probably be the last post of the week.  I will make sure to take lots of pictures and fill you on upon our return!  Everyone have a great weekend!

Question of the day:  Do you ever randomly make things on a whim or do you like to plan them out?

3 comments

  1. I’m probably a planner but if it’s late in the afternoon and I have to just prepare dinner I’ll throw my faves. I’m a big fan of brunch food so making home fries with eggs and Greek yogurt seems to be a weekly fave. 🙂 Hope you and Neil have a blast in OC! Take Care Erin -Iva

  2. I need to get a spiralizer ASAP! Also, I clearly need a vitamix so I can make some of these awesome nut butters!! We have a food processor, but it’s fairly tiny and I’m not sure it could do the job. Maybe I’ll be brave and test it out one of these days…

Leave a Reply

