Fridays and Foods

Hello again! I took a hiatus yesterday because I needed a break.  Every day I write this blog on my lunch break and inevitably make myself feel rushed which doesn’t always allow me to unwind during that time.  So yesterday the weather was beautiful and I wanted to explore outside.  I don’t know about anyone else, but I love nature. It gives me a feeling like nothing else and I forgot how much I missed it until the weather started to get nicer. I bought myself a lemon rosemary kombucha and wandered.

20140418-141048.jpg

20140418-141042.jpg

20140418-141034.jpg

That last picture is part of the trail that I run on when the weather is nice.  I am really grateful to live so close to such an amazing running option.

Speaking of Spring, I am excited to plant more basil. I LOVE basil. I made a blueberry-basil smoothie the other day and I need to make more! My one from last year died over the winter, so I found this awesome little pod to grow a new one.  I’m just waiting for it to get warmer overnight.

20140418-141024.jpg

This post is going to be pretty random so stick with me.  Last night I was craving something sweet for dinner so I had a bowl of Purely Elizabeth granola, homemade cashew milk, and a spoonful of homemade chocolate coffee peanut butter. Ok, maybe a spoonful and a half. The picture doesn’t lie.  Oh my was that delicious.

20140418-141057.jpg

Then, because I am suddenly obsessed with cashews, I whipped up some maple cashew butter. It wasn’t as drippy as I would have liked, but when I realized the consistency was like cream cheese I couldn’t stop shoving it in my mouth.  It’s pretty incredible.

20140418-141119.jpg

Last but not least, I am still in the middle of slowly changing documents after I changed my name.  I popped in to get new passport pictures taken the other day and ended up with these.  My hair needed to be washed and I was in the middle of some kind of sinus/head cold, but they’re far better than my license picture. Man is that a doozy.

20140418-141159.jpg

This weekend is really low key so we don’t have much planned.  We look forward to uneventful weekends, but wind up getting bored and needing to find something to do.  I didn’t go to the gym last night because I was still feeling sick, so I will make sure and get out this weekend.  I have been feeling the need to go for a long run outside for a couple days now so that is one thing on my list!  I hope that everyone has a great Easter weekend!

Question of the day: Do you ever take a mental health day? What are your plans for the weekend?

6 comments

  1. Nice 🙂 I didn’t know you could make milk out of cashews!! Is it just as healthy as almond milk? Because I can’t tolerate almond milk – boy have I tried, flavored and all – I’m looking for milk alternatives and its a PAIN. And the cashew butter does look delicious – recipe coming I hope? Have a great, uneventful weekend Erin! -Iva

    1. There are definitely health benefits to cashew milk as well and I have to say that I may prefer it to almond milk. Since the nuts are softer, the soaking time can be less and there is no need to strain the milk afterwards. So far it is the closest to actual milk that I have made and doesn’t have as much of a taste as the almond milk. I will probably post about it soon so be on the lookout!

  2. I used to work through my lunch, but now I make myself bike home to hang out with my dogs. And it has made my work days so much more bearable! Glad you got out. Have a fabulous weekend.

    1. I definitely advocate for a mental break now and then! I’ve stressed myself out way too many times by forcing myself to do things that I could just postpone until a little later. Glad you seem to do the same!

Leave a Reply

