Vega Bars Review

I was recently selected to review the reformulated Vega Bars and I jumped at the chance.  I like having protein bars around mainly for after workouts, but my problem recently has been that there aren’t too many that I can have.  I know that my stomach doesn’t respond well to dairy, so I have also cut out whey as well, which is a main source of protein in most bars and powders.

I first tried these bars when one of my Foodie Pen Pals sent me one in my package.  I really liked it and then realized that they weren’t sold in many stores around me.  Once I finally tracked them down, I bought a whole box.  They are on the pricey side for me, so I don’t buy them that often.  That’s why I was really excited to try these new formulations on the house if you will.

These bars are vegan, gluten free, and filled with all sorts of good-for-you ingredients.  They are also delicious, pre and post reformulation.  Some are better than others (to me), but I definitely enjoyed all of them.

Without further ado…

20140429-143425.jpg

Vega Snack Bars

e_SodNQ6UC_VJIpESAD89uzWlhFoLPBi877IR-9zmgc,Tc16XqPEmKE4GYU4zH3V_C_TIWkzJ2vCT4Cqnyeaokk,YA-Kki41Q2yHF9jEiCNOt5mZJJp3216IcH8sqbnUa9o

 

20140429-095146.jpg

That’s my artsy snack bar photo while I was waiting on Neil in Best Buy to get some kind of technology to tinker with.  I received two flavors of this snack bar: Dark Chocolate Mixed Nuts & Sea Salt and Cranberry Almond. I want to preface all of these reviews with the fact that I am not a huge fan of fruit flavored bars.  That being said, my obvious favorite was the dark chocolate one.  The cranberry almond one was good, but I don’t think I would purchase it myself.

These were good for filling in gaps between meals and helped me stay full until it was time to shove food in my face again.

Vega One Bar

MY20sirf8IwvAN3SOK0cKFdAt9eDLvw2c_Bn2Di1Zwg,XdTRLfrP7dAqONblqIYW_7FV83rNOeFYk_ojqe2XVMg

20140429-095213.jpg

Another artsy picture of my Vega One bar at work.  I work until 730 a few nights a week, so I tried this meal bar as a dinner substitute.  I received this meal bar in two flavors as well: Chocolate Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cherry Almond.  Again, the fruit wasn’t a huge hit with me, but I definitely liked the chocolate peanut butter one.

What confused me, however, was that I barely tasted any peanut butter.  I had to examine it closer to make sure I read the label correctly.  The chocolate part was like a flourless chocolate cake (think fudgy heaven), so that made up for the lack of peanut butter I tasted.

This held me over until I got home, but I had a snack when I got there because this bar was less than 300 calories.  I don’t focus on calorie counting anymore, but make a note of that because if that was all I had eaten I definitely wouldn’t have had enough food that day.  I definitely got in a lot of extra good ingredients with these bars though.

Vega Sport Energy Bar

20140429-095223.jpg

Really the artsiest picture of them all.  Vega Sport Energy bars are meant to be eaten before/during a workout in order to properly fuel yourself.  I am not one to just stop a workout to eat in the middle of the gym, so I ate it right before.  I was working late again, so this was my pre workout fuel.  Two flavors: chocolate coconut almond and apple cherry.

So much fruit! They reminded me of Larabars which made me like them, but they were pretty sweet with all the fruit.  My mouth definitely felt very sugary during my workout, which wasn’t the most fun, but I knocked out a pretty crucial leg day.  If you like fruity bars and need a quick pick me up before or during your workout, these are for you! I should have saved one for my 8 miles this weekend…

Vega Sport Bar

UQLsaXXlWQW13dp6-puF5lAr5YqOuhu-PTdFrkiA9UI,sARHuMyNCnMbNuyE-YKl6OuO68Cr12QGxNtuYNWq1JY,n1vQ0zgWWS9tYuAvV1-Yn9CwNX0WmGiL-8935xEtUNQ,cNb-PuZYxrtoQCkDe7zgaIeu17fi8y-64vQnM6OGI7I

I don’t have any pictures of these that I took myself because I ate them all too fast.  This is by far my favorite line of Vega Bars.  It was the one that I bought by the box.  The old flavor I enjoyed was Chocolate Saviseed, but it looks like it will be no more.  Maybe I can scoop them up at a discount somewhere (fingers crossed).  Two flavors: chocolate coconut and chocolate mint.

I do not like coconut.  I had tried the pre-reformulated chocolate coconut and it was tolerable, but this one I wasn’t a huge fan of.  One of the things that I liked about the old formulation was that the chocolate coating was harder than most so it gave a bit of a crunch when you bit it.  These are soft all the way around which isn’t bad, just different.

The chocolate mint one was pretty good.  I didn’t expect to like it since I am only in the mood for mint and chocolate every now and then (hello Thin Mints!), but the mint was subtle and the chocolate was delicious.  Plus I was getting my precious protein.  After a workout I like to have one of these to rebuild.  I will probably track down the chocolate peanut butter flavor and eat about five because I’m sure they’re delicious.

For more information on any of these bars, the headings are links.  Check them out and let me know how you liked them 🙂

Question of the day: Have you tried Vega Bars? Which one is your favorite?

Disclaimer: I received these bars to review. All opinions are my own.

2 comments

  1. Yumm, I’m definitely going to have to check these out! I’ve never tried anything from the Vega line before, but I love their ingredient lists, so I’m going to have to see if I can get my hands on some!

Leave a Reply

