Catchup

Ok. So I missed the boat on Move It Monday because I left work early to give another speech near where I grew up.  You may remember that I gave one last month as well.  People who were at that one reached out to have me come and speak to youth and parents in a neighboring county, so I drove down yesterday in order to share my story with them.  It is always a great privilege for me to be able to shine more light on addiction and work on removing the stigma associated with it.  They have asked to film me so that they are able to show what I have gone through to others since it’s a bit of a hike for me to get there from VA on a regular basis.

There was a lot of stuff that went on this weekend, so I want to briefly go through what went down.

Saturday

I am still on a running ban, so I went to Bikram Yoga in the morning as I have been for the past month.  It was awesome as usual, but no sweaty pictures this time.  After yoga, I met up with a bunch of women I know for a pool party.  I love the sun.

20140520-154141.jpg

20140520-154202.jpg

20140520-154006.jpg

Sunday

Sunday Neil and I drove from VA to NJ to get together with some of his family and celebrate their new house.  All of the food pictures I took on Neil’s phone and didn’t get from him, but of course my phone is filled with pictures of dessert.  It was so good to see everyone and we had a great time! Then we made the 4 hour trip back to VA and crashed.

We stopped in DE for coffee and apparently there they spell Erin like this:

20140520-154029.jpg

20140520-154054.jpg

20140520-154101.jpg

20140520-154110.jpg

20140520-154116.jpg

20140520-154251.jpg

I told you what I did Monday already and tonight I am planning on going to Bikram again after work.  I am treating myself to an unlimited month of it (that shiz is expensive!) because today is my clean date.  I have been free of drugs and alcohol for 4 years today and can’t believe where this journey has taken me.  There have been many ups and downs, but no down is as bad as life was when I was using.  I am incredibly grateful to those people who have helped and supported me along the way and who stuck around even during the tough times.

This week should be a little calmer and I hope that everyone has a beautiful day!

Question of the day: What did you do this weekend? Has Starbucks given you awesome new spellings of your name?

 

5 comments

  1. Congratulations on your 4 years!!! 🙂 Enjoy that unlimited month of Bikram for sure hehe does your hubby practice Hinduism actively? I always found that religion so fascinating! The food looks so good – love Indian food! Glad you’ve had a great weekend and happy hump day Erran 😛 -Iva

  2. Erran, hahaha. That is hilarious! Looks like you had a great weekend though – congratulations on 4 years! I’m glad you’re doing something special to treat yourself, you definitely deserve it. Also, LOVE the outfit! So many bright colors make me happy!

Leave a Reply

