Vega Sport Protein Bars Review

Hello Thursday! Just one more day and then a glorious, uneventful 3 day weekend.  I had mentioned in earlier posts that I was participating in a second Vega campaign and I am here to give you all the delicious details.

In my previous Vega review, I was given a sample of all of their reformulated bars.  For the Sport line, I was given every flavor except the delicious chocolate and peanut butter one.  They were both good of course, but I longed for the elusive peanutty goodness.

I selected the Sport bars for this campaign because I find that I use those the most in my exercise routine.  I’m not big on eating bars right before my workouts or during, so this was a no-brainer.  I opened the mail and was happily greeted with an entire box of CHOCOLATE AND PEANUT BUTTER.  My prayers were answered.

UQLsaXXlWQW13dp6-puF5lAr5YqOuhu-PTdFrkiA9UI,sARHuMyNCnMbNuyE-YKl6OuO68Cr12QGxNtuYNWq1JY,n1vQ0zgWWS9tYuAvV1-Yn9CwNX0WmGiL-8935xEtUNQ,cNb-PuZYxrtoQCkDe7zgaIeu17fi8y-64vQnM6OGI7I

As I have mentioned before, I like these bars because I am lactose intolerant and try and stay away from whey as well because my stomach is not a fan.  That makes it hard to find a protein that I can tolerate well.  These bars are vegan (using plant protein), gluten-free, and covered in chocolate.  I enjoy all of those words.

Since I have been forbidden from running for the time being(lame), I will be honest and say that I ate a lot of these for dinner when I was working late.  The times when I did a workout at the gym or after yoga were perfect for devouring one.  They do an awesome job of refueling me and taste like dessert.  There are even little pieces of peanut in them.  Normally I don’t like crunchy things in my food, but they go well with this bar.

I make sure to have one in my purse in case I will be out and may not have access to meals at the time when my body is telling me to eat.  I took one with me to a friend’s pool party this past weekend and a tiny creature tried to devour it.  He has good taste.

20140522-112655-41215025.jpg

They contain 15g of protein, which is a good number for me because I don’t need to eat a bar that has like 30g.  I get enough protein throughout my day that it is not necessary for me to overload on it in a single bar.  I love these bars for how good they are for me as well as how good they taste.  I have been talking about them before I was ever offered an opportunity to review them, so you know I’m telling the truth!

Question of the day: Have you ever had a Vega product? How did you like it?

Disclaimer: I received these bars as part of a campaign for Vega and as part of my Sweat Pink Ambassadorship.  All opinions are my own, as always.

8 comments

  1. Is Stevia in these bars? I really wanted to like the Vega One Nutritional Shake that was sent to me.. it was good until after I swallowed it and tasted stevia. I’m just not a fan of stevia.

    1. The Vega One shake contains stevia extract, but these bars do not. They are sweetened with dates, brown rice syrup, tapioca syrup, raw agave, and cane sugar. Thanks for asking so I had to look it up. Good to know!

      I think there’s also some magic in there.

  2. I’m not sure if my comment went through, so I’m trying again 🙂
    Is there Stevia in these bars? I really wanted to like to Vega One Nutritional Shake that was sent to me.. it was good at first and then I tasted the stevia.

    1. The site also says that if you are sensitive to stevia, you can try the natural or chocolate flavors of the shake because they have a lower stevia content. I’m not sure what flavor they sent you, but if you haven’t had either of those maybe you will tolerate them better.

Leave a Reply

