Retreat Recap

Hello friends!

I know I am incredibly late in writing the post for today, but I use the WordPress app on my phone to upload photos.  It updated last night and when I tried to open it today it crashed every time.  Ohhhhh technology.  I have just fixed it and wanted to get a post in today even though it is way late.  I hope everyone had a good day!

As I mentioned yesterday, I took last Friday off of work so that I could head to MD for my yearly women’s recovery retreat.  It is a weekend away from our husbands, boyfriends, girlfriends, pets, etc where we concentrate on recovery and wellness.  There are workshops, meetings, massages, and lots of FOOD.  It was fantastic as always and I left feeling very renewed and empowered.

There are cabins at the camp, but this year I elected to stay in my own little baby tent.  I didn’t like not having control over when I could turn out the light and go to sleep and I definitely think I made the right decision.  I grew up in the woods and constantly played in them, so any chance I get to be close to nature I will take.  I didn’t always think that way and there was some teenage rebellion associated with camping, but now in my (almost) 30th year I have come back around to embrace it.

Yes I chose to sleep near this tiny graveyard from the 1800s.  It was awesome.

20140603-200433-72273657.jpg

20140603-200434-72274094.jpg

Before I got to the camp I stopped at Target to pick up a pillow for a friend who had forgotten hers and I FINALLY found sunglasses.  My old ones broke in my purse and I haven’t been able to find a suitable replacement.  Let me know what you think.

20140603-200433-72273157.jpg

Of course I took random pictures of nature instead of people, so below is my montage.  I wandered off on my own into the woods and came across a baby deer the size of a puppy that kept making crying noises.  I have never heard a deer make noise.  It was magical and sad at the same time because it seemed to be calling for it’s mom.  I’m going to assume that mom was just chillin somewhere.

20140603-200434-72274514.jpg

20140603-200434-72274946.jpg

20140603-200435-72275775.jpg

20140603-200436-72276113.jpg

20140603-200435-72275425.jpg

20140603-200436-72276505.jpg

The weekend was phenomenal and I had a great time connecting with other women and all the nature around me.  The weather was amazing!  I hope everyone else had a great weekend and check back tomorrow for my retreat themed WIAW.

Question of the day night: What did you do this weekend?

3 comments

  1. That’s pretty awesome – Kudos to you for being able to sleep next to a graveyard. Not happening – I’m not a nature person, I think nature is evil and we’re not meant to get along for long or extended periods of time. Those are my experiences anyway. Glad you’re rejuvenated! Enjoy the rest of your week -Iva

  2. Looks like a great time! I can’t believe you slept next to a graveyard though! I’m way too much of a chicken for that! Also, your sunglasses are adorable! I LOVE aviators, but sadly just cannot pull them off with my face shape. So I’m always super jealous of people who can rock them!

Leave a Reply

